Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Reservation restrictions with Equipment Access

If you belong to a User group with access restrictions, you can only add items you have been granted access to when creating a Reservation or Check-out. This article explains how equipment access restrictions work, how to view restricted items, and how users with the right permissions can override conflicts.

 

To create a reservation with access restrictions, follow the standard reservation steps:


  1. In your navigation bar, go to the Reservation tab.

  2. Click on New reservation.

  3. Fill in the reservation details (dates, location, and any additional notes).

  4. Click on Add items.
    👉 By default Cheqroom only shows the items you have access to.

  5. Select the items you need for your reservation.

  6. Click on Add items or kits.

  7. To finalize your reservation click on Reserve.

What are restricted and unavailable items?

When creating a reservation, you can choose to view restricted items by enabling the Show restricted items toggle in the item picker. This reveals two additional item states:

  • Restricted items are the items you don't have access to. They are identified by the orange Restricted modal.

  • Unavailable items are those in use or assigned to other users - in custody, in an open check-out, reserved, or flagged. They are identified by the red modal.

🚨 Note 

Restricted items are never visible in the Booking Portal (the self-service portal that allows end-users to browse and request equipment without logging into the main Cheqroom workspace). Only items you have access to will appear there.

Can I add restricted items to a reservation?

Users can select and add restricted items to their draft reservation. However, if your User role does not include permissions to ignore restrictions, any restricted items added will automatically be removed from the reservation when it is completed.

How do I override equipment access conflicts?

Both admins as well as other users with the right permissions will be able to override restrictions when creating Reservations:

  1. Create your reservation.

  2. When finished, hit Reserve.

  3. A modal will pop up. To ignore the conflict, click on the toggle.

  4. Click on Reserve.

The restricted item is now part of the reservation.

⚠️ Important

Overriding access restrictions is done at your own discretion. Make sure you have authorization before ignoring a conflict, as the action is logged and traceable to your account.

Roles with permission to override conflicts

By default, only the account owner and workspace admins (system roles) can override conflicts. However, the ability to ignore conflicts can be enabled as a separate permission for reservations and check-outs — allowing you to create custom roles that grant non-admin users this capability as well.