Skip to content
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

How To: Add, Import and Update Users

Learn how to efficiently add users to your Cheqroom account with step-by-step instructions for inviting colleagues or onboarding larger teams.

Adding Individual Users

This method is ideal for adding a small number of users to your Cheqroom workspace. Follow the steps below to invite individual users and grant them access to your account.

  • From the left hand menu in your Cheqroom account, Click on Users and then click on Add User on the top-right corner of the screen.


 

  • Enter the Name and Email address of the person you want to invite.


  • Next scroll down to User groups, select the group you'd like to add them to and if you'd like to give them Workspace access, toggle the button. The new user will receive an email invite when you add them. Additionally,  you can select the User role if they are to have access to the back end of your Cheqroom account.

  • Please review our How To: Manage User Roles and Permissions guide that explains more about user roles and permissions. 

  • Click Add user to add the new user. 

 

TIP: You can add a User without giving them Cheqroom access to have a User to manage bookings and have contacts to receive notifications for those bookings. This can be useful for third-party contractors.

 

Import Users From a CSV File

To import multiple users at once, go to the Users page, click Import, upload a CSV or Excel file that matches the provided template, and submit. Only Full name and Email address are required; all other fields are optional. This method is ideal for onboarding a whole team or migrating users from another system.

  • On the Users page, click on Import on the top-right. We provide a User Spreadsheet Template to help you get started. Make sure your file follows the same column format as the template to ensure a successful import.


  • Choose a role for the Users you are uploading (optional). If given one, invite links will be sent to their emails upon successful import.

  • You can download the Excel template or CSV template. Click Select file or drag and drop your file to import all the new Users.

    Once your file is selected, click Import to submit and complete the bulk user import.

 

NOTE: You might need to create custom fields in Cheqroom to match your needed fields depending on your Role Permissions. You can read more about that in our How To Manage Custom Fields guide.

Updating users with a CSV file

After you've added users to Cheqroom, you can export a CSV file with their details and use it to bulk-update their information.

 

  • Click on Users on the left-hand menu. Click on Export on the top right.


  • Choose the File format (Excel or CSV) and then choose the Fields you'd like to include (Include all fields or Include only current columns). Then click Start export. 

 

  • When it's ready, click on Import on the top right of the Users Cheqroom page.

  • Follow through with the process as with the Import, but make sure to map the Id field correctly.

    • The ID field is how Cheqroom matches each row in your file to an existing user. If an existing user is imported without the ID field correctly mapped, they will be created as a new user instead of being updated.

 



Troubleshooting Failed User Invitations

Common reasons a user invitation may fail include an invalid email address, a previously sent pending invite, or an expired invitation link. See the solutions below for each scenario.

If you're having trouble inviting users to Cheqroom, this section covers the most common causes and how to resolve them.

The email address is invalid.

Make sure the email address you're trying to add is correct. Double-check for any typos!

The person was already invited.

If the user has already been invited to your account, perhaps their invite link is still pending or has expired.

 

If expired, you can re-invite them by following these steps:

  • Click Users on your left-hand menu.

  • Click on the dropdown list next to the search field and choose Expired invites.

  • Hover over the User you want to re-invite and click on the Actions button that appears.

  • Click on Give Workspace Access and select the User role.

  • Confirm by clicking Give Workspace Access again.

 


You can also check the Inactive or Archived Users if they don't show up under expired or pending invites. By activating or unarchiving them as a User, they can log in again using their old login details.

NOTE: If a user has forgotten their password, they can reset it by clicking Reset Password, or you can send them a reset link from their user profile.

NOTE: If a user does not receive their invitation email, ask them to check their spam or junk folder before you resend the invite.

 


How do I set up user roles?

  • To set up roles, click on Settings, and then Role permissions. 

 

For a full explanation of each role and its permissions, see the How to manage user roles and permissions guide.